top of page
Writer's pictureTedecia Bromfield

Morning Tea


You are like morning tea at 6 am. Or there about

because we both know mornings aren’t my hour. But you’re a morning person, aren’t you?

You remembered to leave the tea bag swimming in my cup.

I don’t recall telling you my preference but it’s just one of those

things that you seem to know about me. You notice small things.

Things I fail to recognize in myself.

(HowDoIFeelAboutThis?) The morning tea lacks sugar but I don’t say anything because

I consume more sugar than deemed healthy. I drink your fresh morning tea. I watch you drink your fresh morning tea. You’re thinking. (IKnowThatBecauseYourGazeIsFocusedInTheDistanceAndYour

EyebrowsAreCreasedAndYouLookAsThoughYouAreCalculating

TheScienceBehindLaunchingASpaceShip) You come back from your space trip. You say ‘I’ve been waiting on you to wake up, ma’am’. That makes me smile. You kiss me (MorningBreathAndAll). That makes me blush. You ask how I slept. I think that’s a silly question. How could I sleep anywhere less than magnificent with your arms wrapped around me all night? I say ‘Fine.’ You ask if I’m hungry, which is also a silly question. I’m always hungry. You disappear, I miss you, you appear. With food. You wait patiently as I search for something for us to watch while we eat (BadHabit) We eat. Food finishes. Now we -redacted- Twice. It was good, it’s always good. I sleep again. You wash the dishes. I’m up. I walk with you as you water your plants.

You bring me into the yard and I realize it’s a paradise

in the midst of a storm

(AloeVera, MangoTrees, BreadfruitTrees,AckeeTrees) You have a story for each tree resting in your yard. (YouHaveAStoryForEverythingAndIWouldListenAllDay) I realize how much //I like// holding your hand as the trees whisper around us. I realize how the flowers are more colourful when you point them out to me. I realize how much I adore you. (HowDoIFeelAboutThis) I feel this: You are the stories I want to hear all day. You are a paradise in the midst of the storm. You are my Space Trip. You are my Fresh Morning Tea. I miss you in all the ways my heart hasn’t met yours yet and I adore you in all the ways my heart has.


257 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page