top of page
Writer's pictureTedecia Bromfield

Days

Some days it's easier, I must say...

Some days I can float

in the hot humid air

and flick sweat off my chest

and laugh about it.

Some days I can laugh to

the beats of crickets and

wink at the hoppers

and sigh about it.

Some days too

I'll wear

the sun's chorus

and dance in sunflower gardens

and cry about it.

But other days my laughs are something like

senility and sighs are oh so heavy.

My cries are volcanoes destructive and hot.

What is the matter

says they

because all that can be seen and heard for miles is a quietness.

The quietness silences me.

I lie on my cotton balled afro.

The concrete toasting my feet and my breath sighs, hot and bubbly.

Don't they see the heaviness and sulfur and fallen soldiers?

They must know, thinks I.

For it's not a secret.

I wear my sadness on my shoulders.

In my bones and in my levers. It moves me, anchors me.

So they must know,

they know. I am not guardian of my sadness.

Anyone can enter.

The heaviness clog up

my tears

in the nape of my throat.

But it leaks through

in bits and increments

Like sweat but worse

because

It's heavy and hot and silent

It chokes me on the boiling pavement floor



 

This poem is written about the moments I am surrounded by people that I love and consider my closest friends and yet feel lonely, exasperatedly so. At times I feel like I exist, but no one sees me. Some days I am quite fine by this. Existing without being seen has its upsides to be quite honest. But other days my sadness seeps through and I express my sadness by crying in private and not speaking (basically shutting down, (how mature of me!)) in public.


I'm also a Cancer Sun and Aquarius Moon, so that means that I feel a lot but I keep my feelings in my head a lot and sometimes expect others to read my mind, read my feelings. So, this is obviously where a lot of my problems stem from, I expect people to already know what I'm feeling which birthed the line Don't they see the heaviness and sulfur and fallen soldiers?

They must know, thinks I.


Ultimately, my sadness eats away at me, holds me and makes me feel cornered. So yeah, that's my poem :)


18 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page